Reflections on Maya Lin’s Art

Maya Lin’s artistic style is especially creative and unique because of her combination of art, architecture, and nature. She is a popular Modernist artist who gained fame when she designed the Vietnam War Memorial in Washington, D.C.
Her artwork inspired me because of the way it connected with nature and the past. Many of her works are involved with Native American and natural history. A few of her projects are made out of earth. She made long, tall mounds that mimic Native American burial sites in Ohio. From the air, they look like a continuous squiggly line like someone’s cursive handwriting.
Another project she did was for the commemoration of the bicentennial of the Lewis and Clark expedition. The “Confluences project” included four sites in Washington. The project resulted in a legendary experience that truly honors the peoples and cultures of the Columbia River Basin. The four preferred sites are: the confluence of the Clearwater and Snake rivers in Clarkston; confluence of the Snake and Columbia rivers in Pasco; near the confluence of the Columbia and Willamette rivers in Vancouver; and the confluence of the Columbia River and Pacific Ocean at Fort Canby State Park in Pacific County. This was significant because there are few historical monuments that specifically commemorate both Native American and European-American history.
Besides working with Native American tribes, Maya Lin also cares a lot about the environment and sustainability. Recently, she has worked on a project in memory of the species that have been exterminated by human activity. This moved me very much because I am an environmentalist, and care about preserving biodiversity. It saddens me that so many have gone extinct because of man’s greed and ignorance.
I feel a connection to Maya Lin’s works because they concern topics that I care about. I have been made aware of the genocide of the Native Americans and the paving of their land in the name of “civilization,” and of the hundreds (if not, thousands) of species humans have driven to extinction. Maya Lin’s imagination catches my attention and appreciation through her unique artwork.

~ by jsacc001 on March 26, 2008.

3 Responses to “Reflections on Maya Lin’s Art”

  1. Thank you soo much for this blog entry! I love Maya Lin’s work 🙂
    Thank you once again…

  2. HEy!!
    one question do you know what Maya Lin’s likes are?? I am doing a project on her and I will like to know as much details of her as possible.
    thank you,

  3. Hello,
    I thank you for visiting my blog. This post is only based on a presentation Maya Lin gave at my university about her projects. I did not get so much personal information that I got to know what her “likes” are. For starters, I would search some scholarly or library databases for Maya Lin, and go from there. Perhaps you could browse the sources from her Wikipedia page. I wish I could give you more help, but that as far as I can go in providing you with as many “details of her as possible.”

    I hope you do well, and wish you the best on your project. Take care.

Leave a Reply

 
