A Summary of Spain’s Impact on Me

My study abroad experience in Spain has changed me on multiple levels of my personality. Foremost of these changes was the way I think about certain topics. One of the most important subjects was the level of collectivism and individuality in a society. Also, I tried to look at human interaction and thinking through the lens of E.O. Wilson’s Sociobiology and Susan Jacoby’s cultural conservationism (as expounded in both Freethinkers and The Age of American Unreason). I tried to apply these concepts at the macroscopic societal level and the microscopic individual levels. As I reflected on my experience and education here, I came up with new perspectives, insights, aspirations, and challenges.

Secondly, I changed the way I act in because of two factors. The first was becoming a better student by copying some of the methods of some of the most experienced students in my group. The second was adapting to Spanish, and therefore European, social idiosyncrasies. For example, I changed my clothing style to the ones found in Europe. I enjoyed adopting a Euro-techno sort of style with my new soccer haircut, sunglasses, necklace, Springfield jacket, Zara Hombre clubbing shirts, and dark jeans. I fully blended into the crowd at clubs and on the street. I looked like someone who went to techno clubs frequently, which was fun to do.

I hope to share more in later posts, but for now I must prepare for the end of this course. Hasta luego.

~ by jsacc001 on May 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “A Summary of Spain’s Impact on Me”

  1. this is my favorite post of all!

  2. also, j-sac, i think it’s more like a fohawk than anything else

  3. Solid blog post…I can’t wait until you visit Africa.

Leave a Reply

 
